getfluentinarabic

A great WordPress.com site

Learning vocabulary lists or sentences to speak Arabic

Leave a comment

 testimony image

Out of two which one are you doing? Learning memorizing a list of vocabulary or memorizing sentences?

A mistake that I made whilst in London was going through a random list of vocabulary and trying to memorize it like I’d do for an exam.

If you’ve read Get Fluent In Arabic I mentioned why this does not work and why you need to focus on learning sentences. The words soon start fluttering out of your memory. You think that there’s something wrong with your memory but trust me there isn’t. Focus on learning and memorizing sentences and not words by themselves unless it’s the odd word.

Below are some short sentences you may use in your time learning Arabic abroad  I’ve tried to make them as short as possible for easy memorization

انا متزوج ana matazawij I am married

أشعر با لملل ashuru bil malal I feel bored

بكم هذا becum hasa (how much is this)

فقدت هاتفى faqatu hatifi I’ve lost my phone

اكره هذا ikrahu hasa  I hate this

لا أثق به la athiqu bihi I don’t trust him

في أحلامك fi ahlaamick in your dreams

أعطينى فرصة aathini farsa give me a chance

هذا رائح hasa raaih this is amazing

هل أنت متأكد hal anta mutakid are you sure

لست متأكدا lastu mutaikidun I’m not sure

أحتاج ألى ألوظيفة Ahtaju ilal wathizfa I need a job

أحبك من أعماق قلبى uhibuki min aamaaki qalbi I love you from the depths of my heart (score brownie points with your spouse

سأرسل اليك رسالة نصية saursilu ilyk risalatun nasiyah I’ll send you a text message

أريد أن أستخدم ألشبكة ألدولية uridu an istakdima ash shabakah adowliyah (when you go into the internet cafe)

أريد منديل, و خبز uridu mindeel wa khubz I want tissue and bread (when at grocery)

أين ألمستشفى, ألحمام aynal Mustashfa hamaam where is the hospital

thank you for reading this 🙂

Shajahan

Author Of Get Fluent In Arabic

Award Winning Arabic Learning System

Award Winning Arabic Learning System

Author: Get Fluent In Arabic!

Assalam alaikum everyone! I'm glad that over 400 people have now downloaded Get Fluent In Arabic and benefited from it. I love travelling and have traveled and lived abroad in China (most recently in 2014) and Egypt 2009 to learn Arabic. Writing is my passion. It's the means for me to be my creative self. A special thank you to Sara Amin (Formerly Rose Adams) for her thoughts on Get Fluent In Arabic. The first ever step by step self help guide. Feel free to check out her thoughts here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1EcD0qyNPw

Leave a Reply

