getfluentinarabic

A great WordPress.com site

The Power Of Desire

3 Comments

What is the ultimate secret to achieving any goal?

I believe it’s found in the statement that flashed in my head when I desperately needed to  pass my final exams.

اذا أراد ألانسان شئ لن يوقفه شئ

if a person wants something badly enough nothing will stop them.

This burning desire will carry you to achieve the goal when you face obstacle. Where others will give up because their desire is not strong enough yours will carry you through to overcome the obstacle.

I remember the obsession to learn Arabic whilst in Egypt I would not sleep except a few hours some nights. I’d wake up to write new sentences in Arabic that popped right into my head.

I was desperate not to waste time. I met some students who had spent three years and were going backwards and forwards in their Arabic. Simply because they did not have a burning desire nor did they learn daily on a consistent basis.

Egypt was definitely a country that made more sick than any other period of my life with the lack of hygiene in food prep, coupled with the heat. But the burning desire did not decrease in any way. I said to myself I am not leaving until I have achieved my goal.

When I took a short break to London after spending nine months in Egypt my teacher Ustas Syed Ali said to me.

”You’re not coming back are you?”

I replied.”Of course I am. Why wouldn’t I?”

Because most students who return to their home country never come back.

I had reached level nine of the Fajr center diploma program and badly needed the break.

The policy at Fajr center was you can take up to two months break consecutively. Anything more than that and you’d have to sit an exam to see if your level of Arabic had dropped if it did you could end up having to repeat a level. So I made the firm decision to return within the two months.

I have to admit when I did spend a week in London I was so relieved. Food that I bought did not make me ill, my friends, football, my area all made me wana stay.

I was tempted to stay.

Things aren’t easy you know in Egypt for a foreigner.

Life is lonely even more so coz I was single at the time. Fortunate are the married. Alhamdulilah been happily married for two years now.

Egyptian food was really not a big hit with me. The lack of variety that I’m used to made it harder. I know I know us westerners we are too used to ease and comfort.

When going and coming back from the Arabic center Arguing with the taxi drivers to not charge me three times the amount. Even the landlord would claim we had not paid the rent for the previous month, internet cafe guy trying to use our internet connect it to three other residents to make a profit.

But without doubt the most difficult part of living in an Arab country is being surrounded by ANGRY people. The same existed in Saudi, Yemen.

I learned when you are surrounded by angry people anger becomes a habit. I actually developed it then thank goodness got rid of it when I stayed a year in China where the people there are very mild tempered. (It was a year of therapy)

Despite the cons I went back. As I believed in finishing what I started.

Thankfully I completed the Fajr center diploma program.

I believe we will face hardship when we want to attain anything in life.

Whether it be finding a spouse, getting an education, financial success because otherwise it’s not worth pursuing. But it’s that passion and burning desire which will carry us over to the attainment of our dreams (goals)

ٌRemember if you want something badly enough in life NOTHING and I mean NOTHING will get in your way.

Thank you for reading this blog

Shajahan Rohman

Author of Get Fluent In Arabic

                                                                        images (7)

Author: Get Fluent In Arabic!

Assalam alaikum everyone! I'm glad that over 400 people have now downloaded Get Fluent In Arabic and benefited from it. I love travelling and have traveled and lived abroad in China (most recently in 2014) and Egypt 2009 to learn Arabic. Writing is my passion. It's the means for me to be my creative self. A special thank you to Sara Amin (Formerly Rose Adams) for her thoughts on Get Fluent In Arabic. The first ever step by step self help guide. Feel free to check out her thoughts here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1EcD0qyNPw

3 thoughts on “The Power Of Desire

  1. Subhan’Allah, I can relate to this post on “so many” different levels. Also, shukran for the motivation. Your posts are very inspiring to others, such as myself, with me being a beginner student of the Arabic language. By the way, my husband purchased your book and he enjoys it.

    • Thank you so much Umm ahmad for your kind words! I hope your studies are going really well. It is rather challenging living in certain countries to learn Arabic. How badly we desire to learn Arabic will decide if we can overcome challenges or not.
      thank you to yourself and your husband for purchasing Get Fluent In Arabic. If he could spare a few moments to post a review on amazon I’d be so grateful. Thank you once again for your words it really motivates me to keep on writing to benefit people such as yourself

  2. Pingback: The Power Of Desire | The Life & Times of Umm Ahmad

Leave a Reply

