getfluentinarabic

A great WordPress.com site

The waiters and the people of I’m gonna do

Leave a comment

300X250 (1)
salam alaikum everyone,
Are you someone who is waiting around for some miracle to occur before you start progressing in your Arabic?
In May 2009 whilst abroad learning Arabic I met countless students who like myself had joined the summer intensive program.
They had this energy about them. One would say, ”these next two months I’m gonna get really busy on my Arabic.
I’m gonna do this and that I’m gonna work like mad memorize the dictionary.” Unfortunately this person after 3 weeks went back home saying, ”it’s too hot now I’ll come back another time.”
In Get Fluent In Arabic I talk about stopping ourselves from saying I’m gonna do such and such. Saying I’m gonna is one of the first steps to procrastination.
There’s an old Chinese saying I mention in my book How To Be Productive And Achieve Your Dreams under my pen name Kevin Miles it goes ”talk doesn’t cook rice.”
How to be productive Jpg
The Waiters 
The second category of people I met are the people who I call the waiters. They’re the people waiting around for a million things to happen and fall in place before they get on with working on their Arabic or anything else in their life.
They say things such as
I’ll wait for the weather to improve then I’ll really get busy working on……
I’ll watch this soccer match then I’ll start working on…
I’ll drop the kids off to school then I’ll reeeeeally get busy.
I’ll wait for my laptop to get fixed,
I’ll wait for my broadband to get fixed,
I’ll just relax for a bit
I’ll wait for the economy to improve.
As soon as you decide to wait for things you’ve submitted control of your life to the outside world.
Below are a few examples how people wait around for things to happen in their life.
-waiting around for the partner of their dreams.
-waiting for the phone to ring for a job interview
– waiting for money to come into your business account magically without any marketing
– waiting around for your boss to notice your good work at work
– waiting around for the perfect teacher to teach you Arabic instead of practising and building your four language skills.
We need to stop waiting for things and ask ourselves what can I do to make things happen? This question forces your mind to start thinking of practical ways to make change a reality.
Our situation in the outside world will never change til we change our inner world.
“God does not change the condition of a people til they change what is within themselves.” (Al Qur’an)
The level of your Arabic will not change til you change your inner world.
We all procrastinate from time to time but it needs to be controlled and limited.
Procrastination was a serious problem for me whilst abroad trying to learn Arabic.At the beginning of my Arabic studies I’d have an entire seven days to get my homework or exam preparation done. Somehow or another I’d find myself revising or doing the exam prep one and a half day before the deadline.
How To Stop Procrastinating Doing Your Arabic Homework
It was only until I’d do my homework immediately after class was finished that it would get done.Whilst all the students had left the class I’d sit in the class get the homework done then go home. Or if I went home I’d have a shower sit and do the homework before eating.
By the way if you have any children this is also the best way to get them to do their homework before they relax and watch tv when they come home from school.
I think our minds are still in work mode but once we start relaxing it can be very difficult to get out of it.
Once when I came home my wife gave me a long list of tasks that needed doing immediately
”I’m gonna do it later in the evening I’m tired now.” I said Uh oh big mistake!
Two minutes later my friend called me,
salam bro wana go for a game of football It starts in ten minutes?
In ten minutes?!
I’ll be there in five.
The tasks didn’t get done.
The next day I had my own personal tasks to do but now I had the tasks from yesterday to complete.
Seeing me stressed out my wife said,
”When we procrastinate and leave things for tomorrow we are only giving ourselves more to do and more stress. That’s what leaving things to the last minute is about.”
Boy from those words did I learn my lesson or what.
If you ever catch yourself thinking or saying I’m gonna do, or I’m gonna wait, or I’m waiting for… that’s when you know you’re procrastinating. And procrastination only leads to regret.
thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to read this blog
for more to improve your productivity feel free to check out How To Be Productive & Achieve Your Dreams
Wasalam
Shajahan Author Of Get Fluent In Arabic
testimony image
Author: Get Fluent In Arabic!

Assalam alaikum everyone! I'm glad that over 400 people have now downloaded Get Fluent In Arabic and benefited from it. I love travelling and have traveled and lived abroad in China (most recently in 2014) and Egypt 2009 to learn Arabic. Writing is my passion. It's the means for me to be my creative self. A special thank you to Sara Amin (Formerly Rose Adams) for her thoughts on Get Fluent In Arabic. The first ever step by step self help guide. Feel free to check out her thoughts here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1EcD0qyNPw

Leave a Reply

