getfluentinarabic

A great WordPress.com site

High Scores Low Skills

Leave a comment

300X250 (1)

Salam alaikum everyone,

I’m not against exams. I think they’re crucial as the pressure to pass kept me working on my Arabic.

The problem occurs when we let our grades  tell us how well we are progressing. Once whilst I was leaving to go home from my lessons I was walking by one of my teacher’s classes. He motioned to me to come in. I told him لا أستطيع هناك مهمة خاصة أريد أن أنفذها la astateea hunaka muhima khasah uridu an unnafizaha (i can’t there’s an important task i want to do.

He would not take no as an answer.

I entered the class and stood near the entrance.

The teacher winked at me and said أريد أن أريك شىء uridu an urika shayan I wana show you something.

Inside were two students who were extremely happy. It was obvious why. They had both scored 90% in their exams. They were on level thirteen of the fourteen level course. I was excited. I was on level four and thought these guys must be pros. Until one of them spoke. تكلم مترددا takalama mutaraddidun

He spoke stuttering. The teacher played the Bayna yadaik CD for the lessons they had studied from level seven. The other spoke stuttering ‘‘this is too fast ustas.’’

I quickly understood the lesson the teacher was trying to convey to me. A lot of students get high marks in the exams but the exams don’t really test a student’s listening or speaking skills. The two students would finish the course but unfortunately their listening and speaking skills would be underdeveloped. Guys, don’t make this mistake.

On page 60, 79, 98, and 103 of Get Fluent In Arabic under the title know the signs of progress I give students a system of knowing how well they are doing developing their listening, speaking, reading and writing skills.

Feel free to check it out here

Thank you for reading this blog 🙂

wasalam alaikum

testimony image

#getfluentinarabic

Author: Get Fluent In Arabic!

Assalam alaikum everyone! I'm glad that over 400 people have now downloaded Get Fluent In Arabic and benefited from it. I love travelling and have traveled and lived abroad in China (most recently in 2014) and Egypt 2009 to learn Arabic. Writing is my passion. It's the means for me to be my creative self. A special thank you to Sara Amin (Formerly Rose Adams) for her thoughts on Get Fluent In Arabic. The first ever step by step self help guide. Feel free to check out her thoughts here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1EcD0qyNPw

Leave a Reply

